plural noun
a group of islands in the British Antarctic Territory, N of the Antarctic Peninsula: formerly a dependency of the Falkland Islands; claimed by Argentina.
South Orkney Islands
plural noun
an uninhabited group of islands in the S Atlantic, southeast of Cape Horn: formerly a dependency of the Falkland Islands; part of the British Antarctic Territory since 1962 (claims are suspended under the Antarctic Treaty). Area: 621 sq km (240 sq miles)


Read Also:

  • South-ossetia

    noun 1. a region in N Georgia, on the S side of the Caucasus Range. 1506 sq. mi. (3900 sq. km). South Ossetia /əˈsiːʃə/ noun 1. a disputed region in Georgia on the S slopes of the Caucasus Mountains; in 1990 it voted to join Russia, leading to armed conflict with Georgian forces; it became […]

  • South-ossetian-autonomous-region

    noun 1. an autonomous region of the Georgian Republic, in the N part. 1428 sq. mi. (3900 sq. km). Capital: Tskhinvali.

  • South-pacific-current

    noun 1. an ocean current that flows E in the South Pacific Ocean parallel to the Antarctic Circumpolar Current.

  • South-pacific-ocean

    noun 1. the part of the Pacific Ocean extending S from the Equator to the Antarctic continent.

Disclaimer: South-orkney-islands definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.