Dictionary: A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

North Rhine-Westphalia

[rahyn-west-fey-lee-uh, -feyl-yuh] /ˈraɪn wɛstˈfeɪ li ə, -ˈfeɪl yə/

a state in W Germany; formerly a part of Rhine province. 13,154 sq. mi. (34,070 sq. km).
Capital: Düsseldorf.
a state of W Germany: formed in 1946 by the amalgamation of the Prussian province of Westphalia with the N part of the Prussian Rhine province and later with the state of Lippe; part of West Germany until 1990: highly industrialized. Capital: Düsseldorf. Pop: 18 080 000 (2003 est). Area: 34 039 sq km (13 142 sq miles) German name Nordrhein-Westfalen


Read Also:

  • North-reading

    [red-ing] /ˈrɛd ɪŋ/ noun 1. a city in NE Massachusetts.

  • North-richland-hills

    noun 1. a town in N Texas.

  • North-ridgeville

    [rij-vil] /ˈrɪdʒ vɪl/ noun 1. a town in N Ohio.

  • North-riding

    [rahy-ding] /ˈraɪ dɪŋ/ noun 1. a former administrative division of Yorkshire, in N England, now part of North Yorkshire, Cleveland, and Durham. noun 1. (until 1974) an administrative division of Yorkshire, now constituting most of North Yorkshire

Disclaimer: North Rhine-Westphalia definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.