Dictionary: A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

European monetary union

the agreement between members of the European Union to establish a common currency. The current participating members are Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain EMU


Read Also:

  • European-parliament

    noun 1. a deliberative and legislative assembly of the European Community that advises member nations on policy matters. noun 1. the assembly of the European Union in Strasbourg. It consists of 626 directly elected members and its role is largely advisory

  • European-plan

    noun 1. (in hotels) a system of paying a fixed rate that covers lodging and service but not meals. Abbreviation: EP. noun 1. (US) a hotel rate of charging covering room and service but not meals Compare American plan

  • European-raspberry

    noun 1. an erect, shrubby plant, Rubus idaeus, of Eurasia, having conical or thimble-shaped red fruit.

  • European-recovery-program

    noun 1. a plan for aiding the European nations in economic recovery after World War II, proposed by U.S. Secretary of State George C. Marshall in 1947 and implemented in 1948 under the Economic Cooperation Administration. Abbreviation: ERP, E.R.P.

Disclaimer: European monetary union definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.