Dictionary: A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z


plural noun
the doctrines of Buddha: all life is suffering, the cause of suffering is ignorant desire, this desire can be destroyed, the means to this is the Eightfold Path.

in Buddhism, the precepts that are the essence of the Buddha’s teaching: that life is suffering, that desires cause suffering, that the annihilation of desires can relieve suffering, that the way to do this is by following the Eightfold Path; also written Four Noble Truths

See four noble truths


Read Also:

  • Four-o

    adjective Perfect; splendid; a-ok [WWII Navy; fr the point system used in Navy efficiency ratings, where 4.0 is the top rating; it is also the numerical equivalent of the grade A in most colleges] 411, the n phr The facts; the information; FOE ONE ONE, the SCOOP, the SKINNY : The 4–1–1 on Urban Cool […]

  • Four-of-a-kind

    noun, Poker. 1. a set of four cards of the same denominations.

  • Four-old-cat

    [fawr uh kat, fohr] /ˈfɔr ə ˌkæt, ˈfoʊr/ noun, Games. 1. three old cat played with four batters.

  • Four-on-the-floor

    [fawr-on-th uh-flawr, fohr-on-th uh-flohr, -awn-] /ˈfɔr ɒn ðəˌflɔr, ˈfoʊr ɒn ðəˌfloʊr, -ɔn-/ Automotive. noun 1. a four-speed manual transmission having the gearshift set into the floor. adjective 2. of or relating to such a transmission.

Disclaimer: Four-noble-truths definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.