Dictionary: A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z


[jyahng-sy] /ˈdʒyɑŋˈsü/

noun, Pinyin.
a maritime province in E China. 40,927 sq. mi. (106,001 sq. km).
Capital: Nanjing.
a province of E China, on the Yellow Sea: consists mostly of the marshy delta of the Yangtze River, with some of China’s largest cities and most densely populated areas. Capital: Nanjing. Pop: 74 060 000 (2003 est). Area: 102 200 sq km (39 860 sq miles)


Read Also:

  • Jiangxi

    [jyahng-shee] /ˈdʒyɑŋˈʃi/ noun, Pinyin. 1. a province in SE China. 63,629 sq. mi. (164,799 sq. km). Capital: Nanchang. /ˈdʒjæŋˈʃiː/ noun 1. a province of SE central China, in the basins of the Kan River and Poyang Lake: mineral resources include coal and tungsten. Capital: Nanchang. Pop: 42 220 000 (2003 est). Area: 164 800 sq […]

  • Jiang Zemin

    [jyahng zœ-min] /ˈdʒyɑŋ ˈzœˈmɪn/ noun 1. born 1926, Chinese Communist leader: general secretary of the Communist Party 1989–2002, president of China 1993–2003. /ˈdʒjæŋ ʒeɪˈmɪn/ noun 1. born 1926, Chinese Communist politician: president (1993–2003)

  • Jiao

    [jyou] /dʒyaʊ/ noun, plural jiao. 1. a copper-zinc coin and monetary unit of the People’s Republic of China, the 10th part of a yuan, equal to 10 fen.

  • Jiaozhou

    [jyou-joh] /ˈdʒyaʊˈdʒoʊ/ noun, Pinyin. 1. a former German-leased territory (1898–1914) on the Shandong peninsula, in E China, around Jiaozhou Bay. 200 sq. mi. (518 sq. km). Chief city, Tsingtao. /ˈdʒjaʊˈdʒəʊ/ noun 1. a territory of NE China, in SE Shandong province, surrounding Jiaozhou Bay (an inlet of the Yellow Sea): leased to Germany from 1898 […]

Disclaimer: Jiangsu definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.