Dictionary: A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z


[mohz] /moʊz/

a scale of hardness used in mineralogy. Its degrees, in increasing hardness, are: talc 1; gypsum 2; calcite 3; fluorite 4; apatite 5; feldspar 6; quartz 7; topaz 8; sapphire 9; diamond 10.
Abbreviation: MSH.
a scale for expressing the hardness of solids by comparing them with ten standards ranging from talc, with a value of 1, to diamond, with a value of 10
Mohs scale
A scale used to measure the relative hardness of a mineral by its resistance to scratching. From softest to hardest, the ten minerals of the Mohs scale are talc (measuring 1 on the scale), gypsum, calcite, fluorite, apatite, orthoclase, quartz, topaz, corundum, and diamond (measuring 10 on the scale).


Read Also:

  • Mohur

    [moh-her] /ˈmoʊ hər/ noun 1. any of various gold coins of India, introduced in the 16th century by various Mogul princes and later used by the British as the standard gold coin of India. /ˈməʊhə/ noun 1. a former Indian gold coin worth 15 rupees

  • Mohwa

    [moh-wuh] /ˈmoʊ wə/ noun 1. .

  • Moi

    British. 1. Ministry of Information. 2. Ministry of the Interior. abbreviation 1. Ministry of Information (now superseded by COI) interjection me? myself? Examples Impatient? Moi? Word Origin French ‘me’ Usage Note used humorously to deflect guilt memorandum of intent

  • M.O.I.

    British. 1. Ministry of Information. 2. Ministry of the Interior.

Disclaimer: Mohs-scale definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.