Dictionary: A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z


a Netherlands overseas territory in the Caribbean Sea, N and NE of Venezuela; includes the islands of Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, and St. Eustatius, and the S part of St. Martin: considered an integral part of the Dutch realm. 366 sq. mi. (948 sq. km).
Capital: Willemstad.
plural noun
the Netherlands Antilles, two groups of islands in the Caribbean, in the Lesser Antilles: overseas division of the Netherlands, consisting of the S group of Curaçao, Aruba, and Bonaire, and the N group of Saint Eustatius, Saba, and the S part of Saint Martin; economy based on refining oil from Venezuela. Capital: Willemstad (on Curaçao). Pop: 222 000 (2004 est). Area: 996 sq km (390 sq miles) Former names (until 1949) Curaçao, the Dutch West Indies, the Netherlands West Indies
Netherlands Antilles [(an-til-eez)]

Group of islands, administered by The Netherlands, in the Caribbean Sea, off the northern coast of Venezuela.

Note: The principal islands of Aruba, Bonaire, and Curaçao, combining Caribbean beaches and Dutch charm, are popular resorts.


Read Also:

  • Netherlands-east-indies

    noun 1. a former name of the Republic of Indonesia. plural noun 1. the Netherlands East Indies, a former name (1798–1945) for Indonesia

  • Netherlands-guiana

    noun 1. a former name of Suriname. noun 1. a former name for Surinam

  • Netherlands-new-guinea

    noun 1. a former name of .

  • Nethermost

    [neth -er-mohst, -muh st] /ˈnɛð ərˌmoʊst, -məst/ adjective 1. lowest; farthest down: the nethermost depths of the ocean. /ˈnɛðəˌməʊst/ adjective 1. farthest down; lowest

Disclaimer: Netherlands-antilles definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.