Dictionary: A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z


[wah-guh-doo-goo] /ˌwɑ gəˈdu gu/

a city in and the capital of Burkina Faso, in the central part.
[ber-kee-nuh fah-soh] /bərˈki nə ˈfɑ soʊ/
a republic in W Africa: formerly part of French West Africa. 106,111 sq. mi. (274,827 sq. km).
Capital: Ouagadougou.
the capital of Burkina Faso, on the central plateau: terminus of the railway from Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire). Pop: 870 000 (2005 est)
an inland republic in W Africa: dominated by Mossi kingdoms (10th–19th centuries); French protectorate established in 1896; became an independent republic in 1960; consists mainly of a flat savanna plateau. Official language: French; Mossi and other African languages also widely spoken. Religion: mostly animist, with a large Muslim minority. Currency: franc. Capital: Ouagadougou. Pop: 17 812 961 (2013 est). Area: 273 200 sq km (105 900 sq miles) Former name (until 1984) Upper Volta
Burkina Faso [(buhr-kee-nuh fah-soh)]

Republic in west Africa, formerly called Upper Volta, bordered by Niger to the north and east, Benin on the southeast, Togo, Ghana and Ivory Coast on the south, and Mali on the west and north. Its capital and largest city is Ouagadougou. Burkina Faso gained independence from France in 1960.


Read Also:

  • Ouananiche

    /ˌwɑːnəˈniːʃ/ noun 1. a landlocked variety of the Atlantic salmon, Salmo salar, found in lakes in SE Canada

  • Oubaas

    /ˈəʊˌbɑːs/ noun 1. (South African) a person who is senior in years or rank

  • Oubangi

    [oo-bahn-gee] /u bɑ̃ˈgi/ noun 1. French name of .

  • Oubangui

    /uːˈbɑːŋɡiː; juːˈbæŋɡɪ/ noun 1. the French name for Ubangi

Disclaimer: Ouagadougou definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.