Dictionary: A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

Ryukyu islands

plural noun
a chain of 55 islands in the W Pacific, extending almost 650 km (400 miles) from S Japan to N Taiwan: an ancient kingdom, under Chinese rule from the late 14th century, invaded by Japan in the early 17th century, under full Japanese sovereignty from 1879 to 1945, and US control from 1945 to 1972; now part of Japan again. They are subject to frequent typhoons. Chief town: Naha (on Okinawa). Pop: 1 318 220 (2000). Area: 2196 sq km (849 sq miles) Japanese name Nansei-shoto


Read Also:

  • Ryun

    noun 1. James Ronald (“Jim”) born 1947, U.S. distance runner; congressman 1996–2007.

  • Ryurik

    noun 1. Rurik. noun 1. a variant spelling of Rurik

  • Rzeszow

    noun 1. a city in SE Poland.

  • S

    noun, plural S’s or Ss, s’s or ss. 1. the 19th letter of the English alphabet, a consonant. 2. any spoken sound represented by the letter S or s, as in saw, sense, or goose. 3. something having the shape of an S . 4. a written or printed representation of the letter S or […]

Disclaimer: Ryukyu islands definition / meaning should not be considered complete, up to date, and is not intended to be used in place of a visit, consultation, or advice of a legal, medical, or any other professional. All content on this website is for informational purposes only.